• Doctor Midnight & The Mercy Cult - I Declare: Treason (2011) (7/10)

    Genre: Industrial Metal
    Label: Season Of Mist
    Playing time: 54:14
    Band homepage: -


    1. You Are God – Intro
    2. Sign My Name
    3. I Declare: Treason
    4. Bleed Idiot Bleed
    5. (Don’t) Waste It
    6. Blame Is The Game
    7. OK (We’re Just About To Die)
    8. Misconception
    9. Glory (Throw The Axe)
    10. Revenge
    11. Victorious
    12. Fools Gold (Bonus Track)
    13. The Whore In The West (Bonus Track)
    14. Smile (Bonus Track)


    Doctor Midnight & The Mercy Cult - I Declare: Treason 


    DOCTOR MIDNIGHT & THE MERCY CULT is some sort of a Norwegian supergroup formed in 2009. It is composed by singer Hank von Helvete of old TURBONEGRO fame, bassist Tim Sköld who has already been part of KMFDM, MARILYN MANSON, MDFMK, SHOTGUN MESSIAH and SKOLD, guitar player Anders Odden from APOPTYGMA BERZERK, CADAVER, CELTIC FROST, MAGENTA and SATYRICON, one more guitar player called Audun Stengel who has also once been in APOPTYGMA BERZERK as well as in THE KOVENANT and finally we’ve got the drummer David Husvik who usually plays with EXTOL.

    This mixture sounds quite intriguing and diversified but it ultimately isn’t and that’s where the main problem of this band lies in. DMTMC lack of creativity and diversity but they surely have their own sound. I would describe the overall sound as Industrial Metal with rather simplistic riffs and vocals that sound strangely modified by multiple effects which is probably due to the limited vocal range of Hank von Helvete. This kind of effects is intriguing for a few songs and works well in the dystopian up tempo rocker and title track “I Decalre: Treason” for example but in over eleven or up to fourteen songs if you got the limited edition, the whole thing gets quite redundant and too simplistic. It reminds me a little bit of the EMIGRATE project by Richard Z. Kruspe from RAMMSTEIN but I liked that project a little bit better because it had also calmer tracks on one side and a few great rock guitar solos on the other side which isn’t the case for DMTMC. The quite cold, direct and provocating lyrics and choruses as in “Glory (Throw The Axe)” are a positive factor and fit to the band’s attitude but can’t help the fact that this debut record here is rather mellow.  

    My favourite songs on this release are first of all the slow “OK (We’re Just About To Die)” which has a very sad and depressive atmosphere that reminds me of some Doom or even Black Metal stuff if there weren’t the crunchy but this time also rather melodic vocals that even make this track something special and easily the best one on the record. Another highlight is the regular album closer “Victorious” that has some clear MINISTRY influences and comes along with a simplistic but very efficient and catchy chorus. This song would have been the best choice for a lead single in my opinion as it also has some well needed energy that many other tracks don’t have.

    In the end, this record surely has its moments and any fan of bands such as EMIGRATE or MINISTRY should purchase this release. Fans of some of the member’s ex-bands should though take their time to check this kind of music out before blindly purchasing this release. It might probably rather please to fans of KMFDM or MARILYN MANSON but not to everybody who likes APOPTYGMA BERZERK or CELTIC FROST as this kind of music has nothing to do at all with this new project. In the end, this record happens to be enjoyable in little doses and I surely give it a few spins occasionally but I expected much more from this line-up after all.


    (Online January 24, 2013)

    « 44. Une chronique en deux parties sur ce qui a touché notre monde en 2012 (2)Doctor Midnight & The Mercy Cult - I Declare: Treason (2011) (7/10) »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks

  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires

    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :