• Dym (2007) - A surprising and surreal masterpiece - 9/10 (19/11/10)

    Surreal experiments from Poland for fans of David Lynch

     

     

    When the director sent me the message to watch his movie I was curious to know why I has chosen me and what he wanted to show me. Some people got angry about his messages, but I think that we all have seven minutes of our time that we can spend to his movie and a few minutes to write or discuss about it. If I was a director, I would probably do the same thing he does. Now, I don't know if I was chosen by coincidence, but I am a big fan of David Lynch and its surreal movies and "Dym" is in the key of this style and that's probably the main reason why I really appreciated watching this. I have seen this movie about three or four times now and I would like to give the director and all the users a feedback of this short movie.

    It is really difficult to talk about the story of the movie as it is a cut into pieces movie that is transcending time and space several times.

    My interpretation is that the main actor is working for the fat guy as a limousine driver. The main actor has amnesia and to remember what happens he recorded everything he lived on several tapes. He listens to several tapes as he is about to split up with the love of his life and wants to remember how they have known each other and how they came to the point to split up.

    The fat man is the master of a certain kind of circle where rich people reunite in a club to take drugs, eat and drink abusively and have violent sex with young women and men to whom they gave drugs before. The go even as far to take poor young men and women from the street, abuse them and kill or make them disappear afterwards. Everyone who tries to escape from the circle is under surveillance or even killed (like the dead young man on the table). I think that the car driver once came to one of those meetings and found it disgusting but he fell in love with one of the women. What has been a sexual relationship in the beginning became something more profound, but the fat guy didn't want his car driver to be the only one to possess that women and they didn't know what to do and how to escape (the fat guy is next to them in the grass and observes them). The main actor considered killing the fat guy (when he suddenly stops the car in a dark alley), but if he would do that, he wouldn't see this girl any more because of the fat guy's influence and so he stops and continues to drive on. So he is caught and lost and the relationship is destroying him and the woman more and more as they are not as happy and hopeful as in the past anymore. The main actor imagines what would happen to his girlfriend if they would try to flee or oppose against the fat guy (the girl is covered in black, tissued with scars and has lost its tits). Finally, they split up and accept their sad destiny to not cause bigger dangers(they cry both after they've had sex for the last time).

    This is my interpretation of this short movie but I think that they are a thousand other possible solutions. Maybe I am completely wrong with my idea, but that's the most interesting thing about this short movie as it gives you the place to interpreter it in many ways.

    What is great about this short movie is that it works a lot with strange sounds an intense shootings and doesn't need a single spoken word. That is very artistically, original and adds a very intense and eerie atmosphere to this surreal little masterpiece. The actors convince just by looking or moving in a very special way and don't need any words to explain as it would be a pity if the story or even the solution to this movie would be told.

    I can really recommend this movie to anyone who like surreal art and movies of David Lynch. I'm looking forward to see more from that director soon and hope that he continues his good work. Maybe one day, he will be able to follow the path of David Lynch, the talent is certainly there. If the director need someone to help him write a script or something, it would be an honour for me to help out even if I think that this creative team from Poland doesn't need any help if they continue like that. Even though this movie is in the key of the works of the American director, I think that this movie is not just a rip-off but has already a quite unique style. But it is even possible to go further and that's why I didn't give the highest rate.

     

    « Red Riding: In The Year Of Our Lord 1983 (2009) - The philosophical conclusion - 7/10 (07/11/10)Out Of Time (2003) - Boring beginning and predictable twists but well played and entertaining - 6/10 (16/12/10) »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks

    Tags Tags : , , , ,