• Light at the end of the tunnel - A review of Swallow the Sun's When a Shadow Is Forced into the Light

    Swallow the Sun - When a Shadow Is Forced into the Light (2019)

    Heartfelt loss can provoke great inspiration. This is certainly the case for Swallow the Sun founder and guitarist Juha Raivo who lost the love of his life under tragic circumstances and went on to release astonishing records with atmospheric doom metal band Trees of Eternity and funeral doom group Hallatar. Swallow the Sun's last single Lumina Aurea was one of the bleakest songs I have ever heard in my life but there was a natural beauty hidden in this drowning darkness. The band's new record When a Shadow Is Forced into the Light might be a first step back towards a more positive mindset. It might be the last step towards partial recovery of the soul.

    I'm not as pretentious to compare myself to the ordeal Juha Raivo had to go through. But I deeply empathize with him. A long time ago, a person I loved from the bottom of my heart unexpectedly left from one day to the other. It came as a complete shock and took me several weeks and even months to be in a positive mindset again thanks to the support of my family members and friends. This loss came at the worst possible moment during my most challenging year at the university, with my most important training just ahead and with two jobs I had to do simultaneously. Many people wouldn't have been able to face these challenges but I somehow managed to excel in my classes, passed the most challenging training I have ever had and performed very well in my two jobs. I even managed to write some of the most inspired texts back then. The terrible event had sparked my creativity and this inspiration helped me to rise from the ashes and become stronger than ever before. It also changed my view of the world as I became more relaxed, pragmatic and careful. Even though I could have all the reasons in the world to despise what that person did to me and especially how she did that, I decided to move on and forgave her.

    I can sense all these elements on this record as well. When a Shadow Is Forced into the Light still has a gloomy undertone but it sounds much more airy, melodic and relaxed than anything else released by Juha Raivo over the past three years. The opening title track amazes with enchanting clean vocals and uplifting melodies that make this track unexpectedly catchy. ''Firelights'' might be the softest song ever by the band but isn't shallow by any means as it was even supported with a music video and convinces with a dreamy neofolk atmosphere that helps the creator and listener to dream themselves far away. ''Clouds on Your Side'' includes songwriting ideas from the person Juha Raivo has lost and impresses with wonderful mellow symphonic elements and the recitation of French poetry that make this song particularly surprising.

    Swallow the Sun's When a Shadow is Forced into the Light still has some of the band's traditional death and doom metal soundscapes but is much more an ambient and neofolk record with airy melodies, dreamy symphonic elements and inspiring poem recitation. Even though it barely classifies as metal record, it's certainly Swallow the Sun's most personal record and probably also its best. This is the kind of album to listen to on your own in an empty room in order to unfold its profound magic as the listener can discover new fascinating elements with each spin. Don't be afraid and drown into the darkness to find your way into the light. As we all know, light can't exist without darkness and that's why one has to embrace both.

     Final rating: 85%

    « Saw V (2008) - The hunters are being hunted - 8/10 (28/01/19)Great progressive elements slowed down by chugging groove metal - A review of Uncured's Medusa »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks Pin It