• Mindhunters (2004) - My favourite psycho thriller of all times - 9/10 (17/10/10)

    Mindhunters (2004)

     

    This movie is probably my favourite psycho thriller of all times. The film inspired me even to begin again to write novels after I have watched it. I have seen this movie at least three times and I get always drowned in a very special atmosphere when I listen to it and never get bored watching it.

    I know that the idea of an isolated group in an isolated place where a murderer is killing one after the other is nothing new indeed. But that is the only critical point about this movie, that it is nothing innovating, surprising or unique. It is not the originality that makes this movie one of the best ones of its genre to me, but its intense atmosphere and the characters realistic behaviours.

    The rest of the movie is just brilliant. From the beginning on, there is a good tension and dark atmosphere in the movie. The characters are all doing a very solid job even if they are not playing the roles of their lives. But especially LL Cool J, who has often been criticized as a weak actor and Val Kilmer, about whom many people think that his days of glory have passed a long time ago, do a credible job and are the most famous actors of this movie. Only Patricia Velasquez is doing a less convincing job after all.

    This movie takes the time to introduce each one of the characters but doesn't take no prisoners and gets you quite fast in a dark mood. When the murderer begins its bloody work, you are always thinking and analyzing what might happen next and it is the original and stunning way the murderer chooses how to kill each victim and how he or she announces when to kill the next one what makes this movie very interesting. Each time I watch this movie, I am not able anymore to stop watching the movie or even take a break, it addicts me completely and my eyes seem to be glued on the screen. There is a lot of realistic psychology in the way each one of the characters acts as the tension raises. There are many twists and riddles to be solved in this movie and you get a surprising and satisfying showdown in the end of this intense movie.

    If you like classical psycho thrillers, you will surely not live a deception with this one and get one hundred minutes of intense entertaining.

     

    « Oldboy (2003) - A true piece of Asian culture! - 9/10 (20/08/10)My little eye (2002) - The best low budget horror movie - 8/10 (17/10/10) »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks