• Oroku Saki And The Foot - Support Gang Violence (2012) (8/10)

    Genre: Death Metal / Grindcore / Doom Metal
    Label: Self-production
    Playing time: 36:43
    Band homepage: -


    1. Intro
    2. Raped In The Mouth
    3. Take A Penny, Leave A Penny
    4. Cries And Ambulances
    5. Frame 313
    6. Master One
    7. Pickpocket
    8. The Soon
    9. Martians Don’t Believe In God
    10. And They March
    11. Suffer The Children


    Oroku Saki And The Foot - Support Gang Violence


    OROKU SAKI AND THE FOOT is not a Japanese band as you might think but a quite strange Experimental Death Metal newcomer from Louisiana that includes elements of Doom and Progressive Metal but also Grindcore parts in its songs. The name is inspired by the main villain of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle series. The band just released its debut record “Support Gang Violence” which is a quite intriguing album that could even find its way in my top 20 of the year.


    The four band members created a quite weird piece of music that includes fast paced Grindcore or Death metal smashers like “Frame 313” but also quite laid back Doom Metal or Drone stuff like “Master One”. The band happens to be completely unpredictable and can switch from dull and limited atmospheres to angry and fast paced musical explosions. The album focuses a lot on the instrumental work and the band happens to have a rather experimental and progressive approach. Especially the longer songs like “Pickpocket” or the amazingly diversified album closer “Suffer The Children” underline the promising musicianship of the young band.


    The refreshing thing is that the band doesn’t take itself all too serious. Many songs are filled with strange but never too disgusting humour. The silly interlude “Cries And Ambulances” puts a little smile on my face but the craziest moment definitely comes along with the hilarious madness that is “Martians Don’t Believe In God”. This song and even the entire record is a unique fun ride despite a few lengths here and there.


    I must admit that this record is definitely not for everyone. First of all, you should be able to listen to technical Death Metal and Grindcore. You must also like experimental and progressive parts as the record is full of them. Last of all, you need a good sense of humour as the record might be too silly for you if you can’t laugh about the abstract absurdity of some tracks.


    If you are curious to listen to outstanding stuff like “Martians Don’t Believe In God” or “Suffer The Children”, give this self-released production a few fair spins on Bandcamp.

    (Online April 23, 2013)

    « Amorphis reviewsAvantasia - The Mystery Of Time (2013) (8/10) »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks

  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires

    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :