• Sade Slavey - The Mystic Experience (2012) (8,5/10)


    Genre: Industrial Metal / Indie Rock / Progressive Metal
    Label: Self-production
    Playing time: 33:00
    Band homepage: -


    1. Spiritual Awakening
    2. The Narcissistic Song
    3. Self Controll
    4. Pangea Is Back
    5. Bondage Freedom
    6. Art Of Living
    7. The Woods
    8. The Mystic Experience
    9. Perception Prescription
    10. I Don’t Wanna Die In Montreal
    11. The Paradoxical Whore
    12. The Unstitching Of Suicide




    Sade Slavey - The Mystic Experience 
    Formed in the beautiful province of Quebec in 2007, SADE SLAVEY combines the names of historical figures Marquis de Sade, a French philosopher, revolutionary politician and libertarian as well as explicitly sexual writer and Anton Szandor LaVey, an American occultist as well as high priest and founder of the Church of Satan.

    The band is though not as brutal, lyrically explicit or perverted as one could think judging from their name. The band's lyrical topics feature thoughts about life and death as well as different states of emotions and even religions. Musically, we get some Progressive Industrial Metal with hints at bands such as APOPTYGMA BERZERK, MARILYN MANSON, MINISTRY, NINE INCH NAILS, PAIN and VOIVOD. The overall atmosphere of the record is slightly depressive and has a certain Gothic touch coming from the emerging bands and genres of the late eighties and early nineties that clearly influenced SADE SLAVEY. Another Leitfaden is a slight progressive atmosphere that sounds a little bit artificially flavoured and has a charming vintage style that gives the band a sympathetic trash identity.

    The record is pretty short but at least all tracks work quite well. We have a few short and fast songs that have a dirty Punk attitude such as the straight "The Narcissistic Song" that takes no prisoners in not even two minutes of running time. Stuff like the fast Indie Rock anthem "I Don't Wanna Die In Montreal" could even play to a larger audience and happen to be short, catchy and addicting. There is also some more progressive out of space stuff on this release in form of the weird "Bondage Freedom" or the gripping title song "The Mystic Experience". These tracks have discordant guitar sounds, progressive keyboard passages, a few sound samples and a several breaks that take these tracks into mid tempo or even towards slower beats with dominating bass guitars and more musical diversity.

    In the end, the young band delivers a quite entertaining second output that has two big flaws with its short running time and a rather limited vocabulary in the lyrics. Apart of that, these five musicians have a lot of talent and a quite intriguing identity as there are not many similar bands like these left nowadays. The abnd's music is diversified but always homogenous and energizing as well. There are a few experiments but they never last to long to bore. Many good ideas meet many addicting hooks in rather short songs without unnecessary lengths. That's a song writing quality many bands have lost nowadays as their songs are always getting longer but not better. In the end, I may give you the following advice: Don't hesitate to support another promising underground band from Quebec as this band certainly has loads of potential.

    (Online January 15, 2013)

    « A brand new interview with the Chinese Symphonic Black Metal band "Screaming Savior"Sade Slavey - The Mystic Experience (2012) (8,5/10) »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks

  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires

    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :