• Steel Trap (2007) - An ordinary and mellow start turns into a masterpiece of its kind - 8/10 (23/06/11)

    Steel Trap (2007)

     

    This is the second part of my little review series: Movies that are way better than you expect.

    "Steel trap" seems at first sight to be another ordinary psychological thriller or slasher movie in the shadows of the great "The cube", "Mind Hunters" and "Saw". I expected a movie of a quality comparable to "House of 9" or "Nine dead" but I was rather wrong.

    The movie starts with the introduction to some stereotypical and rather ordinary characters and I was already close to judge the lack of originality of this movie. When the killing game began I was positively surprised for the first time. The acting wasn't that wooden and rather realistic and appropriated.

    The next surprise followed quickly. The killing methods turned out to be rather original, the atmosphere was sinister and gripping and the whole story attached me more to the characters. The movie got truly entertaining and addicting and I kept guessing who was behind the bloody murders and why. The great thing is that there are many wrong clues and also some right ones and I happened to analyze the behaviour of each candidate and had to change my mind and opinion many times.

    The third and last great surprise is without a doubt the twist in the end of the movie that I didn't really see coming. Normally, I have some doubts and am able to get on the right lane but this time, I got completely bumped. This ending really rated this movie way up beyond the average slasher flick.

    To keep it short, this is a rather original and gripping movie of a more and more popular genre and the rating average in here is definitely way too low. The movie is entertaining and an ideal choice for any horror movie night with your mates and you will keep guessing and expecting until the very end.

     

    « Dead Meat (2004) - High heels and Hoovers, zombie kids and mad cows, old castles and ugly farms plus an excellent camera work - 7/10 (22/06/11)Eden Log (2007) - An unforgettable experience - 8/10 (28/06/11) »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks