• Today: All ages versus age restrictions for concerts

    Age restrictions seem to be a typically North American thing. I've attended numerous rock, punk and metal shows when I lived in Germany and was between fourteen and seventeen years old and my ID has never ever been checked. When I attend metal shows in Canada, my ID is regularly checked, even though I'm twenty-eight years old. Doormen told me that I look younger than my age which I take as a compliment but I sincerely don't think I look as young or younger than eighteen or nineteen. Once, I showed a driver's license with a picture that was a few years old and the security guy wouldn't believe it was me and asked me plenty of questions about my birth date and address. I thought this was a little bit exaggerated and that the security guy was taking his job a little bit too seriously and I say this as someone who has worked as a doorman at a bar for three years myself.

    I think the problem related to age restrictions is related to laws about purchasing alcohol. In North America, a lot of shows are played in bars and pubs and there is an age limit to avoid that younger people purchase alcohol. In my opinion, it would be a much better solution if shows were all ages but you had to show your ID when you buy alcohol at the show. This might be more work for bartenders but you could place a second bartender on a shift or place a grumpy security guard behind the counter to check all IDs. Young people aren't less passionate about music, most often it's actually the opposite if I think about how much I adored the first concerts I attended and young people should have the right to attend shows like anyone else. It makes for a greater experience for everyone involved.

    The only downside that might apply to some people is that young adults need to be more careful when they decide to pick up girls or guys at an all ages show to make sure they aren't underage. It isn't always easy to tell in a dark bar whether a female with lots of make-up is maybe seventeen or actually twenty-two. Don't play a guessing game and ask if you aren't sure. You just have to be a little bit more careful, that's all.

    « The Grandmaster / Yi dai zong shi (2013) - Profoundly artistic but not very martial - 7/10 (16/10/17)My favorite movies of all time »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks