• 2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

    Dear readers of my blog!

    On the sixth day of my epic summer vacation in June and July 2019, I drove from Thompson in Northern Manitoba to the city of Flin Flon in Western Manitoba which is situated right on the border with Saskatchewan. The northern landscapes were truly stunning to watch. I also have an amusing anecdote to share. When I left Thompson, I thought that I had enough gas to reach the next gas station I had seen the day before without any problems. When I passed by a very small town, I decided to look for a nearby gas station nevertheless. There was no attendant and the actual gas station was actually closed. It was possible to buy gas at a machine with a debit card but the machine didn't accept credit cards which frustrated an elderly couple that had arrived before I came to this place. They also informed me that the gas station which I thought was on my way had actually burned down. If I hadn't stopped at this particular place with the unusual pump, I would have run out of gas for sure. The lesson I have learned from this is to go to the gas station early in the morning right after checking out of the hotel.  

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

     Wekusko Falls suspension bridge

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

     Sea plane in the small town of Snow Lake

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

     Our Lady of the Snows Roman Catholic Church in Snow Lake

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

    Cranberry Portage Park 

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

     Statue of Flintabbatey Flonatin right next to Flin Flon Station Museum

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

     View of Flin Flon as seen from Flinty's Trail and Boardwalk above Ross Lake

    2019 summer vacation: Day six - From Thompson to Flin Flon

     War monument in front of The Hundred Stairs in Flin Flon

    « Bie Gaosu Ta / The Farewell (2019) - Spend as much time with your loved ones as you can while you can - 8/10 (05/09/19)2019 summer vacation: Day seven - From Flin Flon to Prince Albert »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks Pin It