• Spotify Playlist: NoFX in Twenty Songs

    Ladies and gentlemen!

    Today, I will complete the trilogy of American pop punk playlists with veterans NoFX. I discovered the band about eighteen years ago when a classmate of mine put some of its songs on a sampler. Initially, I thought that the songs were somewhat chaotic and short but tracks like ''Bob'', ''Pharmacist's Daughter'' and ''Stickin' in My Eye'' grew on me as time went by. I have a funny anecdote related to this band. When I spent my first year in Quebec, one of my very best friends spent a year in North Dakota. We both got girlfriends around the same time. However, his host parents didn't approve of their relationship and would always keep a close eye on them. Since my friend got quite frustrated, I decided to quote NoFX's song ''Vanilla Sex'' with the following lyrics to put a smile upon his face: ''Why do you try to make things illegal? Why do we have to be twenty-one? Are you afraid that people are having too much fun? Why do you care what I do in my bedroom? Why do you want to know how I screw? It seems to me you've got nothing better to do!'' Today, my friend and I aren't in relationships with those girlfriends anymore but even fourteen years later, we still remember that tongue-in-cheek anecdote. Without further ado, here is the link to the playlist of my twenty favourite NoFX songs: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/3OhiPcWD7RbzYRpWXvodz8

    1. Mr. Jones (1988)

    2. Vanilla Sex (1989)

    3. The Malachi Crunch (1991)

    4. Kill All the White Men (1992)

    5. Stickin' in My Eye (1992)

    6. Bob (1992)

    7. Linoleum (1994)

    8. Don't Call Me White (1994)

    9. Liza (1996)

    10. Champs Elysées (1997)

    11. The Decline (1999)

    12. Pharmacist's Daughter (2000)

    13. Herojuana (2000)

    14. Idiots Are Taking Over (2003)

    15. Wolves in Wolves' Clothing (2006)

    16. Eddie, Bruce and Paul (2009)

    17. Ronnie & Mags (2012)

    18. All My Friends in New York (2014)

    19. Oxy Moronic (2016)

    20. Birmingham (2021)

    « Reviewing Japan's overlooked rock veterans Ningen Isu - Ninth part: Kaijin Nijuu Mensou / The Mystery Man of Twenty Faces (2000)Spotify Playlist: NoFX in Twenty Songs »
    Partager via Gmail Delicious Technorati Yahoo! Google Bookmarks Blogmarks